I am someone who almost always has to alter her clothes. I’ll convert long sleeves into cap sleeves and raise or lower a hemline to make a piece work.

Last night, I actually took a piece from start to finish.

Darby Smart is a company that, like Birchbox or Ipsy, has a subscription service where you can create…well, anything really. Some of their past boxes included a light up sign and cupcake toppers.

I happened to browse their site a couple of weeks ago and picked up a couple of boxes (you can get boxes without the subscription) to try. One of them was for a clear clutch.

I’ve been seeing clear, sparkly clutches a lot, but they were either a) not my style or b) way too expensive. But, for $39, I could create my own.

wpid-20140327_222636.jpg

So, the kit came with the clutch, adhesive, a strap, Swarovski crystals, and a sponge applicator. I purchased the studs as an add-on, just because I wanted a combo of tough and glitter. Putting together my design was fun; like playing a combo of Bejeweled and Tetris. Here’s the result:

wpid-20140327_232426.jpg

wpid-20140327_233340.jpg

wpid-20140327_233403.jpg

This project was so much fun! I did all of the crystals on the front so as to minimize the risk of them catching on whatever fabric I was wearing, and did studs across the top and sides. I have to let this dry for 24 hours, so I have time to plan an outfit to wear this with.

I have one more box to craft, but I am already looking for yet another project to do. The wood burning kit is calling my name!

7 comments

Leave a comment